The Enemy Brings Weeds

“The owner’s servants came to him and said, ‘Sir, didn’t you sow good seed in your field? Where then did the weeds come from?’ ‘An enemy did this,’ he replied” Matthew 13:27-28

first take time to read from Matthew 13:24-30, 36-43.

okay. story is about a man and his wheat. it is revealed that in the end it is about the end times and about the righteous being seperated from the wicked by angels of the Lord. moving along

i found it amazing that the moment his servant asked about the weeds, he was not shocked or baffled, questioning whether he is a good farmer, whether he messed up. he didn’t question whether his seeds were actually good or if he bought the wrong kind. he trusted that the weeds growing in his field was not due to imperfections in his farming technique nor was it because of the quaility of the seeds he planted. he knew his skill and he knew (as did his servants) that his seed was good. he had great faith that it was not him but the enemy.

look if that were me, i would immediately blame myself, question what i could have done wrong, if i had been ripped off by my seed dealer-? i would not have the faith in myself to even think that it was because of the enemy. i would blame it solely on myself (some people might even blame their servants or the seed guy, i digress)

(before reading up to verse 36 i did not know it was actually Jesus who was the farmer) so my thoughts were, “gosh, i wish i had that kind of confidence in myself”, but i realized this could be another part of me that God could work on and i happily read on. (and quietly prayed he would give me that kind of confidence)

after further investigation of what Jesus really meant, i realized Jesus had that kind of faith demonstrated in the parable because he is the Son of Man. he knows who he is in God and is confident about the things that he can do, remeber, he only does what he sees the Father doing. 

if having the kind of faith in myself that Jesus demonstrated was attainable, i’d already have it. i’ve worked on myself long enough to know i can’t do this on my own nor can i put trust in myself.

i mean, just a few hours ago i had to be reminded by God that i can’t navigate this life on my own. my burdens became overbearing and i had a mental breakdown. without any accusations from Him, He gently reminded me that his yolk is easy to bear and he gives rest to my soul. God bless, amiright?

so if putting trust in myself hasn’t worked, maybe it’s time to put that trust in the one that has confidence and knows the enemy brings the weeds.

Leave a Reply

